Permanent Mission of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the UN, United States

Statement by The Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Initiative (NPDI)

The Non Proliferation and Disarmament Initiative consists of the following countries: Australia, Canada, Chile, Germany, Japan, Mexico, The Netherlands,Poland, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates

The Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Initiative (NPDI) strongly condemns North Korea’s nuclear test on February 12th 2013, which is an extremely serious violation of United Nations Security Council resolutions (UNSC) 1718, 1874 and 2087. This test, following the launch of a ballistic missile in December 2012, indicates that North Korea continues to develop nuclear and ballistic missile capabilities, contrary to its international obligations and commitments, including those under UNSC resolutions and the 2005 Six-Party Talks Joint Statement.

This unacceptable nuclear test seriously undermines the peace and security of North East Asia and the world. It also constitutes a grave challenge to the Nuclear Non- Proliferation Treaty (NPT). Further action by the international community is imperative in response to North Korea’s provocations.

This test is yet another reminder of the urgency of further strengthening the international framework for the non-proliferation and disarmament of nuclear weapons, including the entry-into-force of the Comprehensive Test-Ban-Treaty and the effective implementation of the NPT.

The NPDI calls upon all countries to continue efforts to attain and sustain a world free of nuclear weapons and all weapons of mass destruction, and abstain from carrying out any action contrary to the international efforts to promote peace, mutual trust, friendship and cooperation.